Search Community

How do I Calculate Scroll Progress on Company Timeline using ScrollTrigger and Draggable?

michaelx test
Moderator Tag

Hi all, 

As you can see, I am new to GSAP (and loving it). I have a project where I want to build the classic company timeline with pinning and scrolling. As you'll see in the demo I use pinning to hold the decade description while the specific year data scrolls by. 

On its own, the pinning works to my liking, however when I add in the navigation bar things get a little complicated. I am trying to use Draggable to allow the user to drag the navigation and also using Anchor links to allow clicking. I don't quite understand how to calculate the long content and sync that to the navigation bar to show accurate scroll progress. 

Does anyone know how to accurately calculate and update the scroll progress on the navigation? 

I hope I have provided enough information, thank you to anyone who gives some time to this,

Michael 

See the Pen RweKPNx by xyeres (@xyeres) on CodePen

• michaelx changed the title to How do I Calculate Scroll Progress on Company Timeline using ScrollTrigger and Draggable?

Hi @michaelx and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

There are a few issues on your setup. The biggest one has to do with the order you're creating the ScrollTrigger instances. You first create the one that controls the timeline that moves the timeline element at the bottom, then you create a series of ScrollTrigger instances that pin a bunch of elements, that creates pin spacing, which changes the height of the element, after you created the ScrollTrigger instance for the timeline element, so that calculation is wrong after creating the section ones. One alternative is to call ScrollTrigger.refresh() after the sections loop or create the timeline ScrollTrigger after creating the sections ones.