Search Community

Ghost/demon lag in Next.js + GSAP website

iknownothing test
Moderator Tag

Hi GreenSock,

To provide context:

I am an amateur developer trying to code a portfolio website (I am a Product Manager). Over the last 5 weeks, I coded the site in TypeScript using Next.js and GSAP.

My problem:

There is a very noticeable site-wide jank/jitter/lag occurring on mobile. I have been debugging it for more than a week. The very strange thing is sometimes I deploy could-be fixes, the lag goes away and I think I solved it finally, and then it comes back some other time (without any new deployments or code changes!).

Things I've tried:

I'm an amateur developer, so it's difficult for me to dive too deep in advanced concepts like browser rendering and memory management. I've been studying the profiler in Chrome DevTools for the past week and I did try the following fixes:

• Rewrote many animations that forced layout reflow into transforms (i.e. scale, yPercent, xPercent instead of width, height, top, left)
  • Removed an x-transform sprite animation from the home page that was based on a 16000x350 368KB PNG. My biggest bet was on this causing the lag, I really did not want to remove it because my website looks too plain without it -> but even removing it didn't help!
  • Removed a vh hack I was using to subtract the mobile browser address bar height from containers using 'height: 100vh' in CSS (using a globally set root variable with the height of the address bar, then using 'height: calc(var(--vh, 1) * 100)'. I believe this was causing a layout reflow and on elements that were being animated, I believed it might be causing an issue. I removed it, lag was gone, I celebrated, lag came back (no joke - true story).