Search Community

Color theme change (dark/bright), but color values are not updating, scrollTrigger

marxcie@gmail.com test
Moderator Tag

Sorry, I need to ask for help. I'm changing the theme of the website (dark/bright), and I'm using css variables. But when there is a color animation, GSAP grabs the css var, and tweens it as a simple rgb object. 
I tried to store the new variables in an object, and change it when the theme changes, but because I create the tween at the beginning, those GSAP variables are already set, and GSAP overwrites the new css variables. I tried to refresh the scrollTrigger, but I guess I should recreate the tweens instead, but I don't know what approach would be good here. 

The problem appears with the animation after I changed the theme with the button.

Probably it's very ugly javascript, I tried to clean it up, comment is, but I'm still just learning JS, and not a developer by profession, so sorry about that. 

See the Pen JjbqyQy by marxcie (@marxcie) on CodePen

Hey marxcie. You've got a lot of code there, much more than I'd expect for this sort of thing.

How about you try explaining the end goal and then we can help you get there? What's the goal? 

From what I can tell, you want to stagger in reveal some columns of text, then change the color of most of them so that some are highlighted. Is that correct? Am I missing something? 

• Like 1

I read your post two times now and I'm still not sure what you need help with.

Do you want a smooth transition between the color schemes? But what would you need the ScrollTrigger for? Or are they two separate problems?

Also I feel your (S)CSS is a bit over-engineered why not just work with SCSS variables? They would compile to static color values, which in your case should (as far as I understand) do the job, are still better supported and probably easier to handle in transitions.

• Like 1

Yep, sorry, my english is still not really good.