Search Community

Animating a dashed line that creates a box once user scrolls down to certain point

alzika test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm a backend developer, but at my job I was recently tasked with a specific job that requires a ton of frontend work.

One of the things this project requires is that once the user scrolls down to certain points on the page, I need an animated line to draw out, and then it basically forms a box and the animated dashed line serves as a border for a div that then fades in.  Note that if the user scrolls back up, that line and the div that appeared do NOT need to hide again or "unanimate", but they need to stay visible once the animations finish.

Does anyone have ANY ideas to help me out here?  I don't even know if Greensock is what I should be using here or not.  Whatever route I take has to work cross browser and IE is what I'm worried about the most, especially slightly older versions (I'm still not sure yet what the client has approved)

Any help would be wonderful here. Thank you.

Hi and welcome to the GreenSock forums,

This a bit of an ambitious undertaking. GSAP could certainly handle the animation aspects, but you would have to have a fairly good understanding of the API.

To trigger an animation on scroll, I would recommend ScrollMagic: http://janpaepke.github.io/ScrollMagic/

Your dashed line that goes around the div could be a little tricky depending on what you need it to do. 

I would look at some of these examples for inspiration:

http://codepen.io/search?q=dash+array&limit=all&depth=everything&show_forks=false

http://codepen.io/search?q=marching+ants&limit=all&order=popularity&depth=everything&show_forks=false