Search Community

position starts from beginning of timeline

jamesb test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi,

I'm very new to greensock, but just getting my head around it. I have created my first simple animation using TimelineLite. Everything is working although I can't seem to make animations overlap properly. 

I am using a position value but it doesn't seem to work with "-=X" or "+=X" I have to enter "+X" or "-X" for it to do anything. And then when it does work I have to calculate from the beginning of the timeline as it doesn't work using the previous animation. 

<script>
window.onload = function() {
var tl = new TimelineLite();
var bgMain = document.getElementById("bgMain");
var worldvision = document.getElementById("worldvision");
var darkarea = document.getElementById("darkarea");
var text1 = document.getElementById("text1");
var text2 = document.getElementById("text2");
var text3 = document.getElementById("text3");
var donate = document.getElementById("donate");

tl.from(worldvision, 1, {css:{bottom:"-70px"}})
.from(bgMain, 1, {css:{width:"350px", height:"275px"}}, "+0.2")
.from(darkarea, 1, {css:{opacity:"0"}})
.from(text1, 2, {css:{opacity:"0"}})
.to(text1, 2, {css:{opacity:"0"}})
.from(text2, 2, {css:{opacity:"0"}}, "+5.4") I would like this to start just before the last one finishes but I have to calculate all the way from the beginning of the timeline.
.from(text3, 1, {css:{opacity:"0"}})
.from(donate, 1, {css:{opacity:"0"}})
}

</script>

Any guidance would be great thanks!

Hi and welcome to the GreenSock forums. 

Sorry to hear you are having problems.

The tween you commented on above should work like this: