Search Community

Mobile performance with 88 element grid

drewbit test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm happy to say GSAP has given me hope again. I switch from jQuery animations (and some css3 jquery plugins) to GSAP tweens and instant performance gains!

However, I'm still not happy with the performance I get on my Samsung Galaxy S2x. It's a pretty decent phone so I know it has the power to play some high end games.

I think using phonegap's browser plugin caused some issues, but even using mobile chrome the performance is choppy and not good enough for a production app.

Of course, I could be doing something very wrong as I'm new to the mobile HTML5 scene. I'm hoping someone might be able to help determine if my issue is animation related or just bad code in general.

My animations are pretty simple:

TweenLite.to(jem, animationSpeed, {top:(blockSize*row)});

It's maybe all the other stuff that gets in the way?

I've put everything in jsbin for easy viewing in browser and on mobile devices:

http://jsbin.com/uyAXume/9/edit

Thanks for any help or pointers.

Hi and welcome to the Greensock forums.

First, great game!! I've always been a sucker for gems games, so I'd appreciate if you could post the link when is completed.

Second, in terms of improving performance, I don't know how much this could help, but instead of animating the top property you could animate the transform:translate property in the y axis and force hardware acceleration using force3D, in order to pass the animations to the GPU, like this:

TweenLite.to(jem, animationSpeed, {y:(blockSize*row), force3D:true});