Search Community

not working with $(document).ready()

benjino test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm new at this. I'm working with the following and trying to use $(document).ready() but it won't work.

Here's what I am adapting and I can get it to work fine:

window.onload = function() {
    var headline = document.getElementById("headline"),
        subhead = document.getElementById("subhead");

TweenMax.staggerFrom([headline, subhead], 1,  {delay:1, scale:0, opacity:0.3}, 2);            
}

Here's what I'm trying to do and can't get it to work:

$(document).ready(function() {

TweenMax.staggerFrom([headline, subhead], 1,  {delay:1, scale:0, opacity:0.3}, 2);            
});

What am I doing wrong?

Hello benjino,

Have you tried this:

// wait until DOM is loaded
$(document).ready(function(){

console.log("DOM is ready");

// wait until window is loaded (images, links etc...)

console.log("window is loaded");

};

});

basically.. your waiting for the DOM to be ready and then run the code when the window has loaded (images, links, etc.. ) 

the reason I put the window.load inside the DOM ready() is because sometimes the window.load event can fire before the DOM is ready.. 

also you could also use jQuery on() load event.. the shorthand load event load() has been depricated

console.log("DOM is ready");

// wait until window is loaded (images, stylesheets, links etc...)
    $(window).on("load", function() {

console.log("window is loaded");

});

});

If you can provide a codepen or jsfiddle example we can better help you!

See the Pen by pen (@pen) on CodePen

http://jsfiddle.net/

hope this helps!

Neither of those work. I see what you are sharing here but for some reason they don't work.

Here's my code: