Search Community

Repeating the same tween with random numbers

Frank test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello,

I'm new to GSAP and in fact pretty new with JS, so please bear with me. I'd like to use GSAP together with Edge Animate.

I'd like to produce a flickering type of animation and started out using this:

TweenMax.to(object, Math.random() * 0.5 + 0.5, {opacity: Math.random(), repeat:-1});

The length of the tween should be random (between 0.5 and 1 second) as well as the opacity target. The code repeats the exact tween again instead of using a new random property for each new iteration.

How can I get this to work with new random numbers with every iteration? Also, if I use for example rotation instead opacity, how can I make every iteration start at the previous end position rather than the initial one? Couldn't figure out how to use invalidate() in case this is the key.

Can these two things be achieved without adding standard JS loops?   

Thanks in advance for your help.

Frank

Hi and welcome to forums,

I would suggest you to create function ( for example flick ), and then run it at the end of the tween, using TweenMax onComplete handler.

Here is some pseudocode:

var $box = $(".box");

function flick(){
    TweenMax.to($box, Math.random() * 0.5 + 0.5, {opacity: Math.random(), onComplete:flick});
}

flick();
By using this method, every time the function is executed it will generate new values ( for time and opacity )

Update: Here is working pen: 

See the Pen IkjAK by bassta (@bassta) on CodePen

Cheers, Ico
  • Like 5