Search Community

Animation based on the scrolling of the page

Imazin test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello everybody!

I'm not very comfortable with the notion of beginning from which the animation starts when an element is visible in the page while scrolling. How to handle this easily? When starts exactly the animation of an element once it appears on the screen by scrolling down the page?

Going further, I have done some tests with animations where the duration is expressed in seconds once started, but what if I want that the animation of my element be based on the scrolling of the page, in both way, normal and reverse?

and http://www.greensock.com/timelinelite/ but without success...

I'm a graphic designer, so be gentle - please - animate through code is pretty lethal to me  ;)
Oh, and by the way -> GreenSock technology rocks!

Hi;

If you need to know when element enters/leaves the viewport I suggest you using a plugin, like http://static.pixeltango.com/jQuery/Bullseye/ . To animate an element based on scrolling position I suggest you creating an TimelineLite and then getting the scrolling percent and animating the timeline to that percent. View the source of this page to see how did it http://blog.bassta.bg/demos/tweenmax-text-animations/index10.html

Sorry for the short answer, but don't have much time right now. 

• Like 1

Hi,

Superscrollorama does have an option to relate the tween progress based on the scroll position, I'm not a scrollorama expert but if you check the info you'll see it, this is from the official site:

.addTween(target, tween, duration, offset, reverse)

• target: scroll position (number) or element (string or object)
  • tween: a Greensock animation tween object