Search Community

Scrolling background image

Awlhy test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi everyone, I'm new to GSAP and am trying to duplicate a jQuery animation using Greensock.

One of the effects is a constant scrolling background similar to http://www.kudoswebsolutions.com/blog/jquery_scrolling_background/demos.html

Using tweenMax I've come up with

TweenMax.to($("#bg"),1,{css:{backgroundPosition:"+=1px 0"},repeat:-1});

However the background position resets every time the animation repeats. How can I continue the animation indefinitely without setting the time to something like 99999?

I think that if you set an onComplete function that restarts the effect from the desired location it will do the trick.

For example:

TweenMax.to($("#bg"),1,{css:{backgroundPosition:"+=1px 0"},repeat:-1,onComplete:function(){
 $("#bg").css({backgroundPosition:"0 0"});
}});

Thanks Micheal,

I've tried what you suggested but onComplete doesn't seem to be called - possibly due to the repeats.

I've also tried animating the full width of the picture instead {backgroundPosition:"1024px 0"} but it still "jumps" at the end of the animation even with repeatDelay:0 and no easing.

Ideally if there's an option to set "infinite time" then the animation would work exactly how it's supposed to. Perhaps I'm missing something ?

Michael71 has the right concept - you could remove the repeat and just use an onComplete (and make sure your ease is Linear.easeNone) to create another relative tween, but I actually think it'd be wiser and get better performance (slightly) to do a little math up front so that you can use a single repeated tween. Here's how it'd work: