Search Community

Tweening to a nagative x value?

kapi test
Moderator Tag

Hi everybody.

I'm trying to use this amazing tweening class on a project I started. I'm a newbie in actionscripting but I managed to import a class and get the thing running. But I ran into a "little" problem.

My tween is happening when a user MOUSE_SCROLLs over an object which is a map with the size of the stage. Now since the initial x and y values are set to 0 (maps registration point is top left), when a user scrolls up, map should zoom in, which means that the new x and y values are less than 0. All of this worked before I tried to use the TweenMax. What TweenMax does is, it changes the new x and y values to 0, so on every zoom-in the map zooms from the top left corner. Originally, I made it zoom in depending on the mouse position (this worked before implementing TweenMax). It seems that TweenMax does not allow negative values for x and y properties. Or am I wrong?

Here is my code. I hope that somebody will be able to help me.

public function zoom (e:MouseEvent):void

{

removeEventListener (MouseEvent.MOUSE_WHEEL, zoom);

if (stage.mouseX < stageWidth && stage.mouseY < stageHeight)

{

var mod:Number = 5;

if ((scale + (e.delta / mod)) >= 1) //if the scale is bigger than 1 - zoom in ---- prevents to zoom out further than original size

{

var originX:Number = (diffX+mouseX) / scale;

var originY:Number = (diffY+mouseY) / scale;

scale = scale+(e.delta / mod);

var newX:Number = validateX(mouseX - (originX * scale)); //calculates and validates new X position (it's always a negative value when zooming in)

var newY:Number = validateY(mouseY - (originY * scale)); //calculates and validates new Y position (it's always a negative value when zooming in)

TweenMax.to(karta, 1, {x:newX, y:newY, scaleX:scale, scaleY:scale, ease:Expo.easeOut, onComplete:tweenMap}); //sets x and y to 0 !!!

diffX = Math.abs(newX);

diffY = Math.abs(newY);

}

else

{

scale = 1;

karta.x = 0;

karta.y = 0;