Search Community

onDragEnd Issue with Draggable and Svelte

HowyouDern test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hi everyone,

I'm using the Draggable plugin along with Svelte and I've run into an issue after the onDragEnd function is complete. The issue I'm running into is after dropping a block on a grid tile I can not pick the block up again immediately after. However, if I drag another block, the original block resets and I am able to drag it again. 

I have created a demo in Svelte REPL: 
https://svelte.dev/repl/f71846736ba54be4a530f6a8d3e2dc9a?version=3.58.0

Steps to recreate:
Drag Block1 to a new grid tile and drop it > Try to drag Block1 again and it is not draggable
Drag Block2 to a new grid tile and drop it > You are now able to drag Block1 but not Block2

I am still new to GSAP so it maybe something simple that I am missing, but after pouring through the docs and staring at the code blankly, I decided I would reach out. Please feel free to let me know if you need any more info. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

• Solution

Hi @HowyouDern and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

I think the issue is due to the fact that you're actually removing the Draggable target from the DOM and adding it again somewhere else, since you're reparenting the element. I don't understand enough of Svelte to know when exactly you're creating the Draggable instances after the reparenting is done. It's clear that the target is gone after it's dragged and that after the other target is moved, the Draggable instance is of the previous element is created again. I believe Svelte does offer some sort of tick event that can be ran after the DOM is updated and consolidated or a method after the component, or the store in this case, is updated. You should create a new Draggable instance for that particular new element and flush the previous one.