Search Community

Using phone, animation runs extremely badly when standalone, but perfectly fine when embedded in site??

RoGuE_StreaK test
Moderator Tag

Wondering if a knowledgeable person can figure out why, on my oldish android phone, my GSAP animations run extremely poorly when viewed standalone, but when embedded within the destination website they run perfectly smoothly??  Not particularly an issue as everyone else sees it via the site itself, but I can't understand why it's happening when it's the exact same page.  Wanting to ensure you don't need the very latest phone to use the page smoothly, that any old device will work.

It's developed within Animate CC (2018) (I'm an old Flash developer), with pretty-much everything being dynamically driven by GSAP v3.6; I haven't checked the latest offering to see if I need to change things to upgrade to v3.11 like I did when moving from v2.  Over the years it's been heavily optimised and recoded, runs buttery smooth EXCEPT when I view it directly in a browser on my Moto G7 android.  Have tested different browsers with the same result, very bad when standalone, smooth as silk when embedded.  Runs fine standalone on my work iphone, and of course when viewed on a laptop etc.

Here's the direct version

https://baudalign.com/hp2023/board_selector_v233.html

And here's the embedded version, sitting in a div which resizes to suit the browser viewing window height/width

https://www.hpbodyboards.com/pages/visualise-your-custom

As I said, it's not a big deal as it works for practically everyone, but I'm just at a loss as to why the exact same page runs very differently depending on whether it's standalone or embedded!  So any help / thoughts / advice would be greatly appreciated.

Howdy, @RoGuE_StreaK! Nice to hear from a fellow "old Flash developer" ;)