Search Community

Overriding MorphSVG loop while on ScrollTrigger Zone

Kkkrxs test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Hi, I'm trying make a landing page with an animated blob in the background that morphs infinitely but transforms into specific shapes on some text blocks, in the example let's say i want to talk about security once i get to the security block the blob changes into a shield.
Everything kind off works, the looping blob is working but when i get to the text block that i want the blob to transform into a shield it transforms for a few moments than goes back to the blob like it glitches, i want the shield to stay as long as block is on view and when out of the block to go back to the blob.

I'm pretty sure this is something very easy to do but I started learning gsap yesterday because of a new place I started working at :)

See the Pen by pen?template=oNPyRXP (@pen?template=oNPyRXP) on CodePen

• Solution

Hi @Kkkrxs and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

There are mostly two issues in your setup. You have a Timeline with repeat -1 running, which means endlessly looping. Then you have another GSAP instance that morphs the same path using ScrollTrigger. This is what happens:

• The endless timeline morphs the path over and over.
  • The ScrollTrigger start point is passed and then the other GSAP instance starts. It basically animates the same property on the same element, so it overrides the endless timeline, which is still running.
  • The tween that was triggered by the ScrollTrigger ends and in the next GSAP tick, the timeline, that is still running, takes over and that's when you see the glitch.

The solution is to pause the timeline using the onEnter callback by ScrollTrigger and run the shield morph. Then using ScrollTrigger onEnterBack callback, morph the path to it's starting shape and restart the timeline.

Here is a live example:

See the Pen BaOPNEQ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen