Search Community

How to setup Vitest Unit Testing for Timeline Duration

Christopher DuCharme test
Moderator Tag

I have recently switched over from Gulp to Vite for building banners and now exploring Unit Tests for the first time.

For example, I would like to create a unit test that checks the duration of the timeline to make sure it does not exceed 15 seconds max animation per banner specs.

I was hoping it would be as simple as adding the following code in my timeline file to export the timeline length:

const duration = tl.endTime()
export { duration as duration }

Then import duration into my test file and run the following test.

test('Timeline should not exceed 15 seconds', () => {
    expect(duration).toBeLessThanOrEqual(15);
})

However, the test then fails with

ReferenceError: gsap is not defined

What is the proper way to configure a export and import to test a gsap timeline?

I'm new to unit testing so any help with how to set up a proper working test to get me started would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @Christopher DuCharme. It's hard to troubleshoot based on the limited information you're providing, but I did want to point out that tl.endTime() probably is NOT what you want. Would you want to test tl.duration()? The endTime() refers to the time relative to the PARENT timeline's playhead. 

Your error indicates gsap isn't defined, but none of the code you shared even references GSAP, so I'm not sure what's going on in your files, sorry. Maybe you just have to import gsap. 

Thanks for the reply @GreenSock

The NDA we have with our clients prevents us from posting any actual code examples, but I just took the type to make a generic reproduction of the timeline and test.

This is the timeline.js file:

import ScrollToPlugin from "./greensock/ScrollToPlugin.js"

gsap.registerPlugin(ScrollToPlugin)
gsap.config({ autoKillThreshold: 2 })
const tl = new gsap.timeline({ repeat: 0, repeatDelay: 2.5 })
const easeOut = Power2.easeOut