Search Community

Gsap - Scrolltrigger - Reveal animation with Transform and opacity

Banddev test
Moderator Tag

Hi,

I am stuck with a "stupid" thing.

I started to use Scrolltrigger recently, so I am still learning.

I just would like to do a reveal effect while you scroll, revealing each section with opacity and a little negative transform.

without the transform, everything is working as expected (start and end match), with the transform the starting point of each section is wrong.

1486799471_Screenshot2022-11-10at11_04_09.png.b85598cdef12ec755e636b8e5c3bb276.png

Could somebody point me in the right direction?

I created a codepen so it is easy to understand 

See the Pen jOKBWyw by mp1985 (@mp1985) on CodePen

Hey there.

The reason for that is that ScrollTrigger takes the transforms you initially set into account - and that's why you should never tween on your trigger element in a way that it changes their scroll-relevant positioning (like here on the y-axis), because it will likely make ScollTrigger not 'behave' like you actually intended.

The solution is to wrap whatever element you want to tween on in such a manner in another element and use that element as the trigger instead.

Does this work more like you had in mind?

See the Pen poKebqN by akapowl (@akapowl) on CodePen

• Like 2

Thanks @akapowl , (sorry for my late reply),  yes it is kind of what I was looking for, the problem is that it is a big website so wrapping every element in another element won't be ideal because I will need to do this xx times, of course I could do this directly in JS but I was looking for a more straight forward solution.

is it not possible to set a sort of offset? (i think scrollmagic has this option)

I was able to do this with the "end point" basically I add the same amount of pixel (in this case 30) that I set for the animation at the begging (so now the "end point" matches the end of the element even with the animation).