Search Community

Multiple scroll triggers -- is *this* how you do it?

papajuan test
Moderator Tag

Hey all, I'm new to GSAP and I've watched darn near every video possible (i.e. getting started, common mistakes, creativecodingclub.com) but I'm still running into some janky performance problems with a Scroll Trigger project, mainly with Firefox and to a lessor degree Safari. I'm looking into a few culprits but I wanted to make sure I'm not doing something fundamentally wrong.

Here's the basic idea:

• A series of pinned panels that fade in/out as you scrub
  • Additional custom scrub animation on select panels (in addition to the fade in/out noted above)
  • A background animation that starts w the first panel and ends with the last one
  • Regular ol' non-scroll-trigger content that follows afterward

The attached codepen is a super simple demo of how I've approached the much larger actual project. 

Thanks in advance to any kind soul(s) who could check my work and provide any feedback on whether this is the right approach/structure or not. :)

See the Pen qBYywJR by papa-juan (@papa-juan) on CodePen

Hi @papajuan and welcome to the GreenSock forums!

I assume that the biggest issue comes from the salmon colored panel moving in from the left, right?

If that's the case this seems to work pretty well in Firefox on Ubuntu 20 and 22:

gsap
  .timeline({
    scrollTrigger: {
      trigger: "#all-panels",
      start: "top top",
      end: "bottom bottom",
      scrub: 1,
      toggleActions: "restart none none reverse"
    }
  })
  .from(document.getElementById("bg"), { xPercent: -100 });

It's always a good idea to animate transforms instead of width, height, top, left, margins properties. Also the scrub: 1 config gives you a smoother transition in the background element.

If this is not the part that is giving you problems, please be more specific about it.