Search Community

ScrollTrigger - Auto start

MacReady test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by mvaneijgen,

Hi All,

I am a complete novice when it comes to GSAP. I've been reading through the various documentation and watched a couple of videos. I'd like to know how I could activate an animation as soon as the mouse or scroll wheel is moved. I'm using the following code to animate six images. It works when the trigger point hits the top of the view port, I don't want that to happen I want the animation to commence as soon as the mouse/scroll wheel is moved.

let tl = gsap.timeline({
    // yes, we can add it to an entire timeline!
    scrollTrigger: {
      trigger: ".container",
      pin: true,   // pin the trigger element while active
      start: "top top", // when the top of the trigger hits the top of the viewport
      end: "+=500", // end after scrolling 500px beyond the start
      scrub: 1, // smooth scrubbing, takes 1 second to "catch up" to the scrollbar
      snap: {
        snapTo: "labels", // snap to the closest label in the timeline
        duration: {min: 0.2, max: 3}, // the snap animation should be at least 0.2 seconds, but no more than 3 seconds (determined by velocity)
        delay: 0.2, // wait 0.2 seconds from the last scroll event before doing the snapping
        ease: "power1.inOut" // the ease of the snap animation ("power3" by default)
      }
    }
  });

// add animations and labels to the timeline
tl.addLabel("start")
  .from(".box p", {scale: 0.3, rotation:45, autoAlpha: 0})
  .addLabel("color")
  .from(".box", {backgroundColor: "#28a92b"})
  .addLabel("spin")
  .to(".box", {rotation: 360})
  .addLabel("end");

Heya!

Hard to tell without a demo. (we really really love demos around here)

It may be that you just want to trigger scrollTrigger right at the top of the page?

let tl = gsap.timeline({
      start: 0, // start right at the top of the page (starting as soon as the user scrolls)
    }
  });

tl