Search Community

Using GSAP ScrollTrigger for Horizontal Scroll

Sanjeet M test
Moderator Tag

Hello I am new to using GSAP 3 ScrollTrigger.

I have this '.extra-long-container' which as the name suggests is very long horizontally (Width: 7000px). In it there could be multiple elements placed at any 'x' position. I have only placed one box ('.box1') in the codepen example but there could be many. Basically I want them to animate when they come into viewport horizontally.

Note:
For this I did not want both the scrollbars to display. Due to the scrollbars being hidden the JS 'scroll' event does not fire. So I had to write a custom function to perform horizontal scroll on 'mousewheel' event ('onscroll' function in JS).

I have seen a lot of answers in forum, Codepen demos: eg: 

See the Pen mdrrbyo by oldskool123 (@oldskool123) on CodePen

Container animation, some videos eg. thisthis but they all have panels (full width & height talking panels as children) in them which I don't want. I only want to place some elements/objects at specific positions in container. They also have a vertical scrollbar in them which I do not want. I do not want either of the scrollbars.

Also as you can see in the demo the 'box1' is not at it's default position(It has been applied a transform). I have no idea why. It would be helpful if you could answer that aswell.

Please reply if you have any doubts.

This is my demo Codepen link: 

See the Pen GRxyBZj by msanjeetaxioned (@msanjeetaxioned) on CodePen

Have you seen there is a plugin to watch for any touch events. See https://greensock.com/docs/v3/Plugins/Observer, no need to hack ScrollTrigger if that is what you want.