Search Community

Wave effect on list items while scrolling

Quang Anh test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by akapowl,

Hello. I'm new to GSAP and I have a question. I have a list of items like this example site, and I want to make a "wave effect" that apply to picture items everytime I scroll. I figured out the scrolling part with ScrollTrigger onUpdate but the animated effect is very hard to understand to do. Can GSAP do like in the example, maybe a demo so I can understand more.
My gsap code:

let proxy = { scale: 1 };
let clamp = gsap.utils.clamp(-1.2, 1.2);

ScrollTrigger.create({
  onUpdate: (self) => {
    let scale = clamp(Math.abs(self.getVelocity()));
    proxy.scale = scale;
    //my gsap function
  }
});

gsap.set(".list .item .image", {transformOrigin: "center center", force3D: true});

The example site:
https://bbdo.de/work 
Thank you!

• Like 1

• Solution

Hello @Quang Anh - welcome to the GSAP forum.

1 hour ago, Quang Anh said:

[...] the animated effect is very hard to understand to do.

Yup - the effect on that website likely makes use of WebGL - and that is not going to be trivial at all.

There is an article over on codrops explaining how to do such a wavy scroll effect - although it is not 100% exactly the same and contains some logic beyond that - but maybe it can serve as a starting point. Good luck with the project and happy tweening!

https://tympanus.net/codrops/2021/01/05/creating-an-infinite-auto-scrolling-gallery-using-webgl-with-ogl-and-glsl-shaders/

• Like 2

@akapowl hi, As far as I could see, there is no WebGl at play, I have not dug too deep, but as far as I came, it very much looks like its all done with GASP and v2, if I'm not mistaken. 3D transforms that mostly happen at speed seem do di the trick, but believe me, I felt very sur too, that there was more going on...
But you might still prove me wrong.