Search Community

Why scrolling down faster than scrolling up with GSAP?

Riccardo1091 test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by GreenSock,

I'm new to GSAP and JS in general, I'm having some problems figuring out why I have two different speeds while scrolling up and down.
It seems like scrolling up triggers the animation without adding the actual scroll amount and that's ok, on the other hand you can scroll down ignoring the animation completely just by keep scrolling, I need a way to prevent the actual scroll movement and leave just the trigger.

There's also a problem once it scrolls all the way up that automatically reverse the animation, I guess it's because it's beyond the limit, why does this happen?

The objective is catching the down scroll event and make the second div go to the top of the page while the first stays fixed below and viceversa.

I tried looking at the most common GSAP mistakes but maybe there's something I'm not seeing
Hope u can help, thanks

See the Pen rNdedwa by Mahanon (@Mahanon) on CodePen

Yes, because your animation is totally changing the height of the page. Also, you're animating the trigger on the y axis which is generally a very bad idea because that would alter the start/end values constantly throughout the animation. It's always better to put it into a container that you use as the trigger, and then animate the element itself. 

I'm having a very difficult time understanding the effect you're after, but perhaps this?

See the Pen KKozeEx?editors=1010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

I understand what you're saying but now I have a very long scrolling on the red div.

Let me explain the goal using other words:
I have two divs with 100vh, #top is fixed to the top of the page, #bottom is right below the window with position relative and top: 100vh.