Search Community

ScrollTrigger. Works, but is a bit unpredictable. Am I misusing it?

Andrei Gheorghiu test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by GreenSock,

Preamble: this is my first attempt at using ScrollTrigger.

i'm making a prototype for a friend's website, in an attempt to convince him to let me replace his 20 years old website (he's stubborn, but I'd be really happy to see his website replaced).
I wanted to also use this to spin two libs that I have been wanted to use for some time now, but haven't had the opportunity:
 - solidjs (instead of Vue / React, which I use at work)
 - ScrollTrigger, which I'm very excited about!

I've put this up in less than a day: https://github.com/andrei-gheorghiu/pwa-solid
You can view the result here: https://pwa.codemonk.digital/

The scrollTrigger animation is close to what I wanted (except that it's broken in the deployed version - it only works well on my local machine, not sure why - see 4th question)
The gallery part is slow and acts unpredictably at times (e.g: when scrolling past the last image, it keeps going one more position, sometimes). I've also noticed sometimes it acts differently when it has `markers: true` vs when they are hidden, which, again, i find quite strange.

Here are my questions:
- is there any way to configure `snap`? I'd like to snap to the nearest painting, not to the first one in the direction I'm currently scrolling.
- Another detail I'd like to change about snapping is the snapping speed. I'd like it to go to its closest picture much faster.
- I'd like to combine the separate animations in a timeline. (If this gets past the prototype phase, a lot more elements will need to be added. The idea is to make the entire website a journey. I'm thinking a timeline helps keep thing more organised and allows for easier fine adjustments later on). 
Are there any tutorials/examples on how to combine multiple separate animations into a single timeline?