Search Community

Unwanted delay in animating border radius

mindjacker90 test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by mvaneijgen,

Hi, 

I'm new to GSAP and I've encountered a problem that I can't simply wrap my head around.

The animation is supposed to be a simple one, I want the border radius to change as I scroll but even after the start trigger it takes some time to animate.

To check whether something was wrong with my approach I added the background change but that seems to work as expected.

I would appreciate your insight on the matter.

Thanks.

See the Pen ExQZWPR by mindjacker90 (@mindjacker90) on CodePen

• Solution

Your `border-radius` is way larger then your circle. If you open the devtools and inspect the circle you'll see that GSAP is animating it perfectly. The `15em` gets converted to `240px`,  but the movement will only be visible at the half of that `120px`, so if you set the border radius to half of the box width it will be a perfect circle. I've also add a `ease: "none"` so that the animation on scroll is linear for the whole scroll duration (default animations is `power2.out`)

See the Pen yLvgMQj?editors=0010 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen

What 15em really looks like in a 15em height and width box and you can see GSAP animates it instantly.

See the Pen wvygJYd?editors=0010 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen

• Like 3

Don't worry about it! That's programming, just get another pair of eyes on it and a solution will come. I once wasted 2 days debugging and in the end it was a space somewhere in the code that should not have been there.