Search Community

using XML data from the loaderMax file.

icekomo test
Moderator Tag

Hello, I would like to start out by saying that I'm a flash designer and not a developer so the questions I have may seem simple. This is the basics of what I'm trying to do.

I have a preloader file that I am using loaderMax on, I have fla file that contains all my assests for the site and I have a .as file that I am using to control all of those assets. I have my preloader file loading in the swf file as well as the xml file. This all is working great, as the wf file shows up and works, and I am able to trace the xml file, so I know that works too. What I can't figure out is how to populate my textFields in my .as file with the xml data i loaded from the prelaoder.

Here is my preloader code:

import com.greensock.*;
import com.greensock.loading.*;
import com.greensock.events.LoaderEvent;
import com.greensock.loading.display.*;

//create a LoaderMax named "mainQueue" and set up onProgress, onComplete and onError listeners
var queue:LoaderMax = new LoaderMax({name:"mainQueue", onProgress:progressHandler, onComplete:completeHandler, onError:errorHandler});

//append several loaders
queue.append( new XMLLoader("xml/testMenus.xml", {name:"myXML", estimatedBytes:1200}) );
queue.append( new SWFLoader("test.swf", {name:"contentClip", estimatedBytes:270000, container:this, visible:true}) );
//start loading
queue.load();
//xmlLoader.load();
function progressHandler(event:LoaderEvent):void {
   trace("progress: " + event.target.progress);
}
function completeHandler(event:LoaderEvent):void {
   trace(event.target + " is complete!");
var data_xml:XML = LoaderMax.getContent("myXML");
   trace(data_xml);	
}
function errorHandler(event:LoaderEvent):void {
   trace("error occured with " + event.target + ": " + event.text);
}

My as code that doesn't work because it can't fine the data_xml var used in the preloader.