Search Community

ScrollSmoother - Safari Issue related to ScrollSmoother (normalizeScroll)

grizhlie test
Moderator Tag

Hi gang,

New to GSAP but loving it so far 😍

Wondering if anyone else found any issues whilst using the below. I am just WONDERING to be clear, I found a temporary "solution" as per below. 

1. ScrollSmoother (NEW)
  2. Safari (Version 15.3 (17612.4.9.1.8))

For more context that shouldn't but might matter: I'm using SvelteKit, building a relatively 'simple' webpage. Hosted on Netlify. 

Issue/Bug:

When scrolling on this page I get jittery behaviour, for a flash I can see an image 'ghost' before everything corrects itself. 

This occurs only when I use my mouse-wheel. If I drag the scrollbar, all is well. 

When I set the below everything also seems to be fixed. Now I'm a complete noob with GSAP so perhaps I missed something obvious. Wondering if anyone has come across this bug? To my knowledge normalizeScroll improves behaviour (perhaps only suffering from this bug in Safari, perhaps this version of Safari, etc).

normalizeScroll: false //from true -> "Fixed" now!

The whole 'block' of code related to this:

const smoother = ScrollSmoother.create({
  smooth: 2,
  normalizeScroll: false, //Bug returns when this is set to true
  ignoreMobileResize: true,
  effects: true,
  preventDefault: true
});

Cheers :)

Griz

• Like 1

• grizhlie changed the title to ScrollSmoother - Safari Issue related to ScrollSmoother (normalizeScroll)

Welcome to the forums, @grizhlie! And thanks for being a Club GreenSock member. 🙌

I'm on Safari 15.4 and it's smooth as butter. Nice job on the site - it looks like somebody found the parallax features and data-speed="auto" in ScrollSmoother. 👏