Search Community

Overlapping scrollTrigger sections: how to deal with scrollbar jumping, preserving scroll on reload

tomividi test
Moderator Tag

I am new to gsap and scrolltrigger and I am trying to work on a scroll based website where panels overlap each other. I am trying to achieve a similar effect as seen on https://www.colabgroup.com (this seems to be a custom coded solution and not gsap based).

I am trying to fix the following issues:

• How can I make sure that #panel-1 is shown first before the gsap animation is initiated and the browser window is at the top (as I am positionings other panels absolute, they overlap and only move away with a delay, as gsap loads)
  • In general how can I preserve scroll position and timeline position on refresh?
  • There seems to be a some scroll bar jumping when #panel-4 comes in, as this panel is taller than 100vh and is entering the viewport overlapping the previous panel from the bottom. How can i control this?

Thanks very much for any help on this.

My best,

Tomividi

See the Pen vYWjaRP by tvielmetter (@tvielmetter) on CodePen

Thanks @Trapti, but I fail to see how your solution fixes any of the issues I am asking about. Also there are several flickering issues in your solution and content cannot be scrolled to on smaller screens. I appreciate any help with the stated issues in my original question.

4 hours ago, tomividi said:

How can I make sure that #panel-1 is shown first before the gsap animation is initiated and the browser window is at the top (as I am positionings other panels absolute, they overlap and only move away with a delay, as gsap loads)

You would need to do that in your CSS to prevent FOUC.

test scrolltrigger sandbox (codepen.io)

There seems to be a some scroll bar jumping when #panel-4 comes in, as this panel is taller than 100vh and is entering the viewport overlapping the previous panel from the bottom. How can i control this?