Search Community

Random floating effect that moves to a static position on scroll.

matt hew test
Moderator Tag

Hi,

I'm new to Greensock and I'm still figuring out how to do stuff. I have a question about how you could implement a certain animation. I created a demo codepen so you can see the progress so far. FYI I know it's not the cleanest code right now - I'll refractor it later... 🙄  but any help with code optimisation would also be well received!

What am I trying to achieve?

I'm trying to make the various elements (triangles, circle, squares) on the page float around randomly and then as the user scrolls it settles in a certain configuration.

What I've done so far...

On page load the shapes scatter randomly (but don't move around) and as the user scrolls it settles into the correct arrangement. I've also got some text that moves in and out of the viewport. Not so important but it gives you some context.

What I need help with...

Everything is working great but I'm not sure how to get shapes to stop moving after the arrangement is completed. After the final form is completed the shapes still move about randomly. I've tried various techniques(probably incorrectly) such as adding and removing CSS classes onEnter but there were a few issues I had with that. I could be going about this the wrong way so any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks.

See the Pen wvPyozb by -matt-hew- (@-matt-hew-) on CodePen

What's tricky is that if your shapes are moving randomly, how do you get them to come together while maintaining that randomness?