Search Community

ScrollTrigger Jitter issue

katjang test
Moderator Tag

Im fairly new to gsap, but i have a question about Scrolltrigger with the "scroller" attribute. I have an app with a horizontal scroller, but when i use the scroller attribute instead of the window, there is some jitter in the Y position of the scroller position, which is not present when i do not use the "scroller" attribute. Am I doing something wrong? The issue seems to be worse in firefox (but it can also happen in chrome)

Here a gif of the issue: https://gyazo.com/624a2a30cfe13d98e8c53875e59db636

See the Pen rNGMyoR by katjang (@katjang) on CodePen

Thank you for the quick response @akapowl, I did actually find that thread while searching for a potential solution! Using pinType: "fixed" breaks the scrolling however, and the other solution doesn't seem to do anything
ScrollTrigger.scrollerProxy("#scroller", {    pinType: "fixed" });

i've added it to the codepen but the issue still persists...

• Like 1

I think in your demo the scrollerProxy will actually not do much, because you set it up after you created your ScrollTrigger.

When I set it up before creating the ScrollTrigger, the scroll will break (just like you mentioned it happening with setting pinType: "fixed" to the ScrollTrigger directly). That's the case because now you will have the "fixed" element obscuring the events. As I mentioned in a later post of that linked thread above, I had to set pointer-events to none for the container. If you can't simply just do that because you e.g. have elements inside, that need to be accessable, check out this thread, which has a neat workaround by @GreenSock for that and also a more thorough explanation for why it is happening in the first place.

Edit: ...or alternatively this thread

With the pointer-events just set to none and the order of ScrollTrigger & scrollerProxy changed, I already couldn't replicate the issue anymore, not even in Firefox.