Search Community

Changing quote text to liquid and fill services titles

Emcom Technology test
Moderator Tag

Hello everyone,

I have a client that is wanting an effect where the quote in the home section in the demo dissolves to liquid and flows down to the service titles.  Would this be possible with GSAP and ScrollTrigger?  They would like to see the flow of the liquid going to the service titles as well, if possible.

I did see this previous post about something similar, but it's 5 years old and I'd like to use only GSAP if possible.  It's using Three.js, and I need to technically "jump" over the about section and go to the services section, while still seeing the flow of liquid though.  I don't think I can do that with Three.js since it's separate sections.  I have used SplitText pretty often, but I'm very new to ScrollTrigger.  However, I included it in the demo so you can see with the markers where I'm trying to begin and end the liquid.  It would also be nice if the animation can somehow start after the SplitText animation. But having both there may not be best.

See the Pen xxXZQNK by mattk1500 (@mattk1500) on CodePen

Welcome to the forums @Matt K

You could certainly animate something like that with GSAP and ScrollTrigger. Rendering liquid it is a completely different story, and will almost certainly require using some sort of canvas/WebGL renderer like PixiJS or Three.js and probably a physics engine.

7 hours ago, Matt K said:

It's using Three.js, and I need to technically "jump" over the about section and go to the services section, while still seeing the flow of liquid though.

That's possible. You would just have to move stuff around on the canvas to match the current scroll position, kind of like what is shown here with the orange boxes, which are being rendered in Three.js.

See the Pen 874833fdebc032bedd0cf61e9eac3ee9 by ashthornton (@ashthornton) on CodePen

• Like 3