Search Community

Accordion style pined headings

Sundararajan KS test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Thomas Günther,

Hello,

I am brand new to GSAP (started yesterday) and I am trying to create an animation/scroll trigger like on this website https://www.bertani.net/style/ from the section "Bertani styles" in my current project. The closest I could find is this -  , but this is not same as on the above reference site.

Here, the heading is pinned on scrolled and on further scroll the image is also pinned and the next heading scrolls up as a layer and the image is pinned again and on scroll the next heading with image shows up as a layer and so on.

Can anyone help me here please?

See the Pen gOWVvzy by sundararajanks (@sundararajanks) on CodePen

Hey @Sundararajan KS - welcome to the forum.

If you want the headings to each be visible but their content collapsed (except for the first one) like on the website you linked to, you will likely have to do some tweening on their height on scroll, simply just pinning won't be enough here.

For that I would probably first set things up via CSS, so the first item appears to be open with the other panels having a height of 100px e.g. respective to the height of the headline I set in the demo below - and calc the height for the first (open) item, so everything fits into 100vh.

With ScrollTrigger I would then pin a surrounding container once instead of each item seperately and via a scrubbing timeline with tweens on the height of the respective items, spaced out along the timeline via the position parameter, you could then achieve that accordeon like effect.

Maybe something like this - please note that this is not supposed to be undestood as the definitive way to go with this, but just as an example of an approach. Hope it helps though.

See the Pen 73791fb5b4eb4c770e8c33667584c37b by akapowl (@akapowl) on CodePen

• Like 5