Search Community

Laggy Animations on GSAP

Cristian Hoza test
Moderator Tag

Hello.  I'm new with GSAP Technology. I'm using the ScrollTrigger Plugin for one of my websites and I find the animations very laggy. 

What I basically want to achieve is : when I scroll down the page, the IMG tag scales down its width (from 100vw to 30% of the viewport).

It actually works, but it's very laggy. Am I doing something wrong ? I'm using React with Typescript width webpack and css modules. I attached two files down below for a reference.

Thank you so much in advance :)

Invitation.tsx Invitation.css

Welcome to the forums, @Cristian Hoza

We'd love to help with any GSAP-specific questions, but unfortunately we're not in a position to do general performance audits and troubleshooting. If you'd like some help, please provide a minimal demo, maybe in something like codesandbox so that we can see what's going on. It's not enough to just attach a .tsx and .css file here - we need to see things in context. 

I'm not a React guy at all, but this smells like a React thing to me. I noticed, for example, that you're passing in pageWidth to the useEffect() and you're also adding a "resize" listener EVERY time that function gets called AND when cleanup is supposed to happen. @Rodrigo or @OSUblake would know better, but something seems off there. 

You also didn't include any of your GSAP-related code, so it's difficult for us to see what's going on.

If you still need some help, please post that minimal demo and we'd be glad to take a peek. 

• Like 1

9 hours ago, GreenSock said:

I noticed, for example, that you're passing in pageWidth to the useEffect() and you're also adding a "resize" listener EVERY time that function gets called AND when cleanup is supposed to happen.

Yeah, it definitely should not be like that. I would search around for how to handle resizes, like here.

https://blog.logrocket.com/developing-responsive-layouts-with-react-hooks/

• Like 2