Search Community

Scrolltrigger & Locomotive scroll issue

newyorker test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by akapowl,

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to the community, but been a huge fan of GSAP which i've just started to get into. I'm currently working on a school project, and trying to implement Locomotive scroll with Scrolltrigger. The issue that im facing is when I enable locomotive scroll, everything seems to be working fine, but when i select and go to a specific  page from the menu, user gets stuck in that page, I've also realized that gsap animation that is triggered is also acting a bit strange on scroll, and i cant seem to get it working properly. The site functions normal without the locomotive scroll. I've added a rough draft of my project to give some idea of what i'm doing. I'm fairly new to javascript, and i'm not really sure if my implementation is correct, and i would really appreciate if someone could point me into right direction to setup Scrolltrigger and Locomotive scroll to work properly. 

Thank you & happy tweening 🙂

See the Pen mdONYzG by yigitaksoy (@yigitaksoy) on CodePen

Edited by newyorker
updated codepen demo

Hey @newyorker - welcome to the forums.

Your implementation of ScrollTrigger alongside locomotive-scroll looks quite right to me - except for not adding in that line for the pinType.

// tell ScrollTrigger to use these proxy methods for the ".smooth-scroll" element since Locomotive Scroll is hijacking things
ScrollTrigger.scrollerProxy(".smooth-scroll", {
  scrollTop(value) {
    return arguments.length ? locoScroll.scrollTo(value, 0, 0) : locoScroll.scroll.instance.scroll.y;
  }, // we don't have to define a scrollLeft because we're only scrolling vertically.
  getBoundingClientRect() {
    return {top: 0, left: 0, width: window.innerWidth, height: window.innerHeight};
  },