Search Community

How to implement GSAP HTML doc in React?

JamesMaddox test
Moderator Tag

Hi all-

I'm brand new to the GSAP space. I have an existing React project and want to implement a GSAP animation. The person that made it for me sent it in an HTML file. How would I go about implementing this into my React site? I know there's a react-gsap NPM package but figured there might be an easy way to just plug the HTML doc in and get it working that way? I've attached the file to this post; if you click when it loads, it should play the animation. Thanks!

index-v3-3 (1).html

Hey James and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

You'll have to convert that HTML, CSS, and JavaScript into a React component. It's really pretty similar to making a React component in general. You don't need to use react-gsap to do this. 

We have an article about using GSAP with React but it currently uses the old syntax. There's also other resources that use the more modern format like this one (found in our learning section).

If you have a specific question let us know and we'll do our best to help out :) 

Thanks so much for the help Zach!

So I broke the HTML file down into a JS file and it worked for about 30 seconds and when I went to make a change it gave me the error message "TypeError: Cannot read property '_gsap' of null" and is talking about harness. Any idea on how to fix this? This is how I have my JS set up:

const textTitle = document.querySelector('.hero-text-title');

const textSubtitle = document.querySelector('.hero-text-subtitle');

const textBtn = document.querySelector('.hero button');

const textBottom = document.querySelector('.hero-text-bottom');

const heartSVG = document.querySelector('.heart-svg');

const heartPath = document.querySelector('.heart-line');

let tl = gsap

.timeline({ paused: false })

.to(

textTitle,

{

duration: 0.3,

opacity: 1,

},

)

.from(

textTitle,

{

duration: 0.5,

yPercent: 50,

},

)

.to(

textSubtitle,

{

duration: 0.5,

},

)