Search Community

Animation randomly stuck

JuliaP test
Moderator Tag

Hi there! 
I'm rather new to the whole world of JavaScript and animations, so please bear with me 😅

We're trying to build an experimental study on gaze following with SVGs. The basic setup is as follows:

1. Participants see a blurry screen with a button saying "los geht's" (meaning "let's go!").
  2. Once this button is clicked, you see a monkey watching how a balloon falls under a hedge. 
  3. This scene is shown until the participants click on the hedge (click accompanied with short positive sound). They should click on where they expect the balloon to be - by using the animal's eye position as a clue. 
  4. Then we go on to the next trial, that starts again with the blurry scene and the let's go button.

All the animations run wonderfully smoothly in most of the cases.

Now the problem: 

From time to time, the animations just don't play at all. They won't even start, but just do nothing (without error message). I tried to reproduce the error, but can't really find any logic behind it. The only thing I noticed is that appears more often (still not always), when you click very quickly from trial to trial. A good proxy of whether the animations work is if the little sound icon on the browser tab is still showing or not. However, the bug still exists even if no sound is played. So for me it seems like maybe the browser is still busy doing some stuff?

As you can imagine, there are tons of functions and a huge SVG file already. I tried to strip it down as best as possible, to provide a minimal demo. 

https://github.com/ccp-eva/vox/tree/minimal-demo
All the animation happens in https://github.com/ccp-eva/vox/blob/minimal-demo/src/js/changeGaze.js

There is also a small video with the bug: https://github.com/ccp-eva/vox/blob/minimal-demo/minimal-demo.mp4.