Search Community

Pinning text in column using Oxygen

Pete G test
Moderator Tag

Hi there,

I'm very new to using GSAP so forgive if this all looks a little basic.

I have followed a ton of videos, more especially these:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FH0B3Gdm0P0&ab_channel=TheCodeCreative&fbclid=IwAR04hfqGn4cCVqbE5QICgDUY4EXX6oKRD6Gt7tqUZ2QweL75GGVQnlqNhzA

I use Oxygen and wishing to pin a text block in a div. If I use the code below it works fairy well however;

Is there a way of setting the end so the text block bottom, stops at the end of the column?
I set end to 700 and sure it works, but on mobile devices the columns are smaller so this breaks.

I have tried all kinds to overcome this, I guess I'm missing something obvious...hopefully.

Any thoughts would be great :)

gsap.to("#div_block-2009-153", {
        scrollTrigger: {
        trigger: "#text_block-1902-153",
        start: "top 20%",
        end: "700 10%",
        markers: true,
        pin: "#text_block-1902-153"
        }
});

aa plz see 12.jpg

Hey Pete and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

If all you want is for this element to be sticky on scroll, there's a possibility that you don't need ScrollTrigger at all. You might be better served with just position: sticky in CSS.

With that being said, if you're doing something more complicated like scrubbing through an animation then ScrollTrigger is the way to go :) As for your question of how to get it to stop at the end of the column, the answer is that you need to set the end value correctly. Perhaps end: "bottom bottom" would do that trick? It's impossible for us to tell exactly what that end value should be based on a picture like you shared. If you need additional code help, could you please create a minimal demo of the situation using something like CodePen?

• Like 1

Hi there Zach,