Search Community

Making my stagger timeline animation more fluid

Jaydev12 test
Moderator Tag

I'm new to gsap animations, and I just wanted to know if someone could provide a more efficient way to code this animation, and make it more fluid, I've been playing around with it and trying to make this stagger animation more fluid. But I haven't been able to do so, it comes out so flat, and it hurts me because I know there's ways to make this a lot more fluid. I appreciate any help given to me.

See the Pen OJRgNLm by jaydev12 (@jaydev12) on CodePen

Hi @Jaydev12 I almost never use `.fromTo` because most of the animations already are at there end position, so I just want to start `.from` to where they already ar now, this makes your code a lot more readable. 

Also you can animate multiple items at the same time by creating an array `[item1, item2, ...ect]` from them if you do this the `stagger:` property works you can find more on this here . And if you are happy with your timeline I would sprinkle in some eases, you can find inspiration for that in the Ease Visualizer

Here is a pen with some of my tweaks 

See the Pen abmwBQd?editors=0010 by mvaneijgen (@mvaneijgen) on CodePen

• Like 5

3 hours ago, mvaneijgen said:

I almost never use `.fromTo` because most of the animations already are at there end position, so I just want to start `.from` to where they already ar now, this makes your code a lot more readable. 

That's one of the tips to animate efficiently, though .fromTo()s definitely have their use cases :) 

3 hours ago, mvaneijgen said:

you can animate multiple items at the same time by creating an array `[item1, item2, ...ect]`

That's true! But if they're a bunch of selector strings it probably makes more sense to use a single selector string (it will perform very slightly faster):

// replace this
[".nav-link1", ".nav-link2", ".nav-link3"]
// with this
".nav-link1, .nav-link2, .nav-link3"