Search Community

Animate element to position and pin it there (Fixed position)

Asored test
Moderator Tag

Hi :) I'm new with GSAP and I like it very much! Thanks for your great work!

Just a beginner question: I try to animate the following simple thing:

https://codepen.io/Asored/pen/PoGYyOg

In my project I trigger the window scroll position instead of waiting for a click event. How could I create the animation from current relative position to a fixed position on bottom right? 

This is my try:

ScrollTrigger.create({
  start: 'top 20%',
  trigger: '#contact--btn',
  markers: false,
  scrub: true,
  onEnter: () => {
    var windowWidth = $(window).width();
    var windowHeight = $(window).height();
    var buttonWidth = $("#contact--btn").width();
    var buttonHeight = $("#contact--btn").height();
    var buttonOffsetLeft = $('#contact--btn').offset().left;
    var buttonOffsetTop = $('#contact--btn').offset().left;

gsap.to('#contact--btn', {
      x: (windowWidth - buttonOffsetLeft) - buttonWidth - 250,
      y: (windowHeight - buttonOffsetTop) - buttonHeight - 250
    })

setTimeout(function () {
      $("#contact--btn").css("position", "fixed");
    }, 10)
  },
})

This is not really elegant. Also the animation is not smooth because of the small break from the setTimeout function.

Is there a better way to create animations like this with GSAP?

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

Best regards

See the Pen PoGYyOg by Asored (@Asored) on CodePen

This is actually the perfect use case for the "Flip" plugin we've been working on and hope to release within the next month. It makes exactly this type of thing crazy simple. Here's a fork of your CodePen with Flip doing all the work for you: 

See the Pen e965361f52378cad9437c729f1f2b668?editors=0010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

That pen eliminates the dependency on jQuery too. The Flip plugin is locked to the CodePen domain, so you won't be able to use that outside of CodePen right now.