Search Community

Animations not working properly after a lot of clicks

Samuel7 test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by akapowl,

Hello, i am new to gsap so i would appreciate some help.

I've created this kind of sliding animation of the nav menu but if i press the hamburger icon a lot of times the animation "breaks", either the burger icon animates suddenly or the nav menu wont slide at all. i apologize if i didnt explained it well english is not my native language so you can try the code for your self and see what i mean, Thanks!.

See the Pen MWeVLxd by samuelsub (@samuelsub) on CodePen

Hey @Samuel7

Unfortunately, there is a whole lot more going wrong in your code, than just the animation not working properly.

On every click when wanting to animate your sidemenu in, you create all those elements, so after a couple of clicks, your HTML will be populated with dozens of those elements. How you could prevent that ( if you really need to create all those elements dynamically ), is by checking for the first toggle, for example, and only on that first toggle create all those elements.

Regarding the animation:

You should avoid creating a timeline on every other click.

Instead, set the timeline up beforehand, and only change the state of it when clicking.

In your case, since the sidemenu is part of the timeline, I took its creation out of the click-event and created it beforehand, too.

Also, since you are checking on that reversed-state when wanting it to play, you should set the timeline to reversed initially.

One more thing is, your last tween in that timeline, that probably is supposed to be a .to() tween, is a .To() tween instead

.To('h2', {x: 0, duration: 0.3, stagger: 0.1}, 'dissapear');

That typo throws an error in your dev-tools console. That's something, you can always check on yourself, when in debug-view on codepen.

Then there is some more stuff, like you applying the click-event to each of your menu-icon bars.