Search Community

What is the GSAP equivalent of JQuery 'event.currentTarget'?

gotofig2 test
Moderator Tag

Hi, complete beginner to all things code here, but I used my lockdown to try and improve my web design skills. In the codepen example of an animated menu I'm building I want to select each of the revealed .nav-items and change its colour, scale, text-shadow size etc in its hover state. So far I can only work out how to change the colour using JQuery.css. Is there an equivalent of 'event.currentTarget' I can use in GSAP3?

See the Pen MWyRvad?editors=0010 by gotofig2 (@gotofig2) on CodePen

Welcome ! I Like where you going with this very cool design.

Short answer is yes, drop it in just like any other props ! Ie: 

gsap.timeline().to(".title__kerbside", {
       x: -10,
       scale: 1.1,
       duration: 0.4,
       color: "rgb(101, 255, 255)", // define like any other prop with value in " "
        ease: "power2"
     })
     gsap.to(".title__karaoke", {
       x: 10,
       scale: 1.1,
       duration: 0.4,
       color: "rgb(101, 255, 255)", // just define it like this
     ease: "power2"..................
// You can also set too
gsap.set("#myElement", {backgroundColor: "white"})

//take note it needs camelCase just like javascript likes so background-color is backgroundColor ect...

Also I recently learned about 

gsap.getProperty("#myElement", "backgroundColor");
gsap.getProperty("#myElement", "x"); //works with GSAP transform properties too. This would return something like "100px"

• Like 3

Hi b1Mind and thnaks so much for responding.

That's great advice about adding the color property in my GSAP rather than the jquery and gives me a much more pleasing transition on the 'kerbside' and 'karaoke' elements.

I'm still a bit confused about how to do the following bit better:

$(".nav-item").on("mouseenter", function(event){
    $(event.currentTarget)
      .css("color", "white")