Search Community

Horizontal website menu: scrollTo section on click

lauxpaux test
Moderator Tag

Hello, I'm pretty new at this and this is my first post so I'll try to be as clear as possible but bare with me please.

The codepen attached is essentially what I want to do for this site in terms of functionality. I'm struggling with the menu portion because it is a horizontal website and I can't just add the ids to the href. I tried using scrollTo but I haven't had any luck so I'm wondering if someone can help me. 

The idea is to have the menu flow throughout all the sections in a sticky-like position. When you click on one of the menu links it sends you to the corresponding section regardless of where you are on the website. Right now I'm thinking scrollTo but I'm open to other methods/animations as long as it takes you to the particular sections which is what I can't figure out. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

See the Pen bGpLrdZ by lauxpaux (@lauxpaux) on CodePen

Hey lauxpaux and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

Normally in situations like this you can just calculate the y offset of the container of your sections and add that to the x offset of each section. Then scrollTo that position. Something along the lines of this:

const sectionContainer = document.querySelector(".section-container");
const navLinks = gsap.utils.toArray(".nav-link a");
navLinks.forEach(link => {
  link.addEventListener("click", e => {
    // Prevent the default behavior
    e.preventDefault();

// Get the element
    const section = document.querySelector(link.getAttribute("href"));
    // Get the scroll position
    const pos = sectionContainer.offsetTop + section.offsetLeft;
    // Scroll to it
    gsap.to(window, {scrollTo: pos});
  });
});