Search Community

ScrollTrigger fade image in place scroll text

flowgrow test
Moderator Tag

Hey guys,

this is my first time working with GSAP and ScrollTriggers. Up until now, I usually hacked together my own scroll handler and was never quite happy with the result.

I'm having some troubles getting the exact effect I want to happen.

What I would want to happen ideally is the following.

When first scrolling to the section with the text and image, I would like for them both to fade in from {opacity 0, translateY: 100px}.

For the following ".point" divs, I would want the image on the right to be replaced with the next image with a cross fade, and the text should also cross fade but also with some vertical motion (e.g. new text from {translateY:100px} old text going to {translateY: -100px}.

The indicators on the left should ideally also change to active, as soon as we reach the section.

From what I have seen in previous discussions, this community seems to be quick to help,

Thank you in advance!

See the Pen eYZpoXa by flowgrow (@flowgrow) on CodePen

• Like 1

Hey flowgrow and welcome to the GreenSock forums. 

What aspect of your demo that you shared is not working like you hope for it to be working? Just the indicators?

Side notes:

• You should probably just use the y property instead of translateY (y: 100).
  • We recommend putting the duration inside of the vars parameter. Doing so also allows you to use GSAP's defaults if you'd like to.

Hi Zach, thanks for your reply!

Right now, all sorts of things aren't working the way I would want them to. 😛

I uploaded a video of what I could do in Figma prototypes, but with clicks, rather than scrolling:

Ideal Animation video

Currently, I am animating the whole ".point" divs but ideally I would like to have the images on the right always stay in the center of the screen, and only change via cross-fade. And only the text should be moving up.