Search Community

Follow cursor along a path using MotionPathPlugin

Harnon test
Moderator Tag

Hey guys! I'm a experienced developer but a newbie to animations. I've been trying Greensock and so far I think is great. I was presented with  challenge today, I need a small circle to follow the mouse along a path I defined. I don't even have a Codepen because I don't even know where to start 🤣

I need the green circle ("#movingcircle") to follow the mouse when it enters the brown area ("#mousearea") and move the green circle along a path (I've used MotionPathPlugin to follow the path, super easy!). If you can give me a high level approach on how should I do this or point me to the right place in the Docs would be a big win for me. 

My first attempt looks like this, as you can see I commented the start and end props which seems the right places where to input the mouse coordinates. Ignore the console.log below, I was just playing around with it. Am I using pause() and resume() the right way? The code:

document.querySelector('#mousearea').addEventListener('mouseover', (event=> {
            tl.resume()
            tl.to('#movingcircle', {
                duration: 5,
                motionPath: {
                    path: '#followpath',
                    align: '#followpath',
                    alignOrigin: [ 0.50.5 ],
                    x: event.pageX
                    // start: tl.progress(),
                    // end: event.clientX * 100 / event.target.getAttribute('width') / 100
                }
            })
            console.log(
                'mouse',
                event.clientX * 100 / event.target.getAttribute('width'/ 100,
                'progress',
                tl.progress()
            )
        })
        document.querySelector('#mousearea').addEventListener('mouseout', () => {
            tl.pause()
            console.log('leave')
        })

path.jpg

See the Pen qBbGJmd by sebosp (@sebosp) on CodePen