Search Community

Code organisation, best practice on first tween

david_br test
Moderator Tag

I started learning GSAP yesterday and made my first basic tween, so much fun.

The tween works OK but before I move on to another and likely repeat obvious mistakes I was wondering if somebody could kindly take a brief look at the GSAP code and advise on mistakes / better organisation. There are plenty of very similar requests, is their a best practice that combines them into single lines or is that just not necessary?

And secondly, I was considering adding this to a timeline but couldn't necessarily see how that would be beneficial for this specific case.. would it be overkill? From reading the docs a timeline could make it easier to manage animations if I later wanted to adjust the timings later but is their any other benefit in this case?

Best,

David

See the Pen qBbBdLV by db-24 (@db-24) on CodePen

Hi @david_br

Welcome to GSAP! Your code looks really good to me. Anything I would add would be more of a preference type of thing. What I show below might not seem too significant within the context of this example because we're talking about 6 tweens. But, in the context of dozens of tweens, you would see how these tips can help.

I like to establish non-tweenable properties using .set() rather than as part of a to/from tween. I do this because it helps me see my "starting points" and more clearly see which properties I am tweening (later with to/from/fromTo). An example here would be transform-origin.

If I find myself repeating properties, I tend to want to consolidate them to reduce repeating myself. An example here is where many of your tweens use the same ease. Of course, in this case, that's only 4 ... but in a larger context you might not want to type that over and over again.