Search Community

Using ScrollToPlugin to auto scroll (very choppy?)

Tessa test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm trying to implement an 'auto scroll' of sorts based on mouse movement/position. 

I'm new to GSAP; I'm hoping someone can point out my errors/help me to make this animation smoother and continuous? 

Adapted from: 

Additionally, here is the live (very rough) preview on my site: https://www.tessa.studio/portfolio

Thanks in advance. 

Edit: The parallax effects on hover are, or at least appear to be, independent of my issues with the ScrollToPlugin... It's still laggy when I comment that portion of the script out.  These effects are the reason for wanting to scroll with mouse movements. 

See the Pen QWWvrvY by jsprac (@jsprac) on CodePen

Hey Tessa and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

Your tweens conflict a good bit here. I'd recommend using one tween per mousemove call and using overwrite: "all" to make sure and stop conflict with previous tweens. Doing both of those things seems to take away the stuttering.

See the Pen ExxmBbr?editors=0010 by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

Side note: it doesn't make sense to put an ease on a .set() call :) 

@ZachSaucier Wow - I am so grateful for your time and assistance ?

If it's not too much trouble,  I have a few follow-up questions. I'm not understanding the logic of the .set() call here/where it's even located since it appears to be implicit. I was reading the docs and realized I was completely mistaken with the xMove and yMove assignments. https://greensock.com/docs/v2/TimelineMax/set() 

1. What are the 0 and 500 values actually referring to? 

$landingInnerContent.on("mousemove touchmove", function(e) {
    var xMove = "+=0",