Search Community

Change text on repeat of Typewriter text animation

Faizan Ahmed test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hey there! 
Can anyone help me with this?
I am new to this thing, really trying hard to get my hands dirty with tweenMax.

PROBLEM: I am trying to animate text in words by using SplitText, The thing i am trying to do is to change text on repeat. but can't do so.

https://fastfoodsignage.herokuapp.com/ go to the second section, There is an animation, I am trying to give it YoYo effect, so it can look like a typewriter, and on repeat want to change innerHTML and update the splitText

Codepen link: 

See the Pen qBWgZGg by ifaizanahmed (@ifaizanahmed) on CodePen

Hi and welcome to the forums.

I'm not quite sure I follow what you're trying to do, but your pen is loading the text plugin — not SplitText. Check out this demo for CodePen safe versions of the Club plugins.

See the Pen OPqpRJ by GreenSock (@GreenSock) on CodePen

SplitText breaks the text into divs so I'd recommend creating separate SplitText elements for each phrase and animating them rather than trying to change the innerHTML between tweens.

Hopefully that helps a bit. Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 1

Hey Faizan, welcome to the GreenSock forums. 

In addition to the solid advice of Craig, there are several things I'd recommend you change:

• Remove the CSS transition on the divs. You should try to keep all animation within GSAP so there's no conflict between animations. I would probably also animate the red rectangle that way instead of using a class name change, but that's up to you.