Search Community

Draggable lockAxis not working on IOS Safari

Kári Bertilsson test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

There seems to be some general weirdness with the overflow-x on iOS. When I test your demo in my iPad, it's just letting the width of the page go out to the full width of the wrapper with all the boxes. I'm no iOS expert, but a Google search showed a few results for overflow-x not being respected. 

So for your Draggable question — you want the user to be able to press the draggable element and scroll up/down, but once you start dragging left/right you want that up/down scroll to stop? Is there a reason the user needs to be able to scroll the page up and down by pressing the draggable element? I ask because  allowNativeTouchScrolling: false would work great for this. 

• Like 3

I am using Draggable on a React component and managed to get this working correctly on IOS by wrapping the React component in double <NonPassiveTouchTarget /> from https://gist.github.com/xiaody/206c4168f9001671c0a374af4558f582

On android the "lockAxis: true" works, but on IOS it does not work unless i use the wrapper also.

I would love to get rid of that boilerplate code, so hope this will be fixed in GSAP. I would expect lockAxis to work the same on both platforms.

• Like 2

• 1 month later...
On 8/24/2019 at 8:26 AM, Kári Bertilsson said:

Are there any plans to make this work correctly out of the box with GSAP ?

I'm so sorry for the tardy reply! We've been heads-down on GSAP 3 and this fell through the cracks. Please accept my apologies.