Search Community

Is this possible? SVG masking a "ken burns" image slider?

DougInTexas test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm a complete newbie to GreenSock. I'm encouraged by what I've seen here (really, really amazing stuff). 

I'm trying to render in code and images/vectors a version of something I've already done in video. I've deployed this little site and was asked to animate some images behind their logo (using the logo as a mask). The site is located at https://momentovillasdelmar.com. The image of the logo is done as a video -- with the commiserate file size and limitations of video. I'm seeking a solution that uses an SVG to mask the 4 or 5 images that are sliding around and cross-fading behind the mask.

Is this something that can be done (I know it has to be)? I would very much appreciate any insight you all might be able to provide.

-- Doug

Hey Doug and welcome to the forums,

This is very doable!

The first thing you need is the SVG mask (or clip path - I'd recommend a clip path for something like this). You should be able to export a mask like the one you're wanting from a vector editing software like Illustrator (or Inkscape). You could even generate it from a font file (if you have the font on your system, type the "N" using that font, then convert it to a path). 

Once you have the mask include the SVG with mask in your project and apply the mask to your images (I'd probably position the images with position: absolute).

Then you just have to loop the image movement and opacity changes. There are a lot of ways to do this, but GSAP's timelines (like TweenMax.timeline) should make that part easy.