Search Community

Optimising / performance of "not-in-DOM" elements

Nick_Rimer test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello there!

I'm a bit newbie in a GSAP animation exactly. And I'll start with a simple example to understand my expectations.

For example, if I'll create the element like this

const elem = document.createElement("div");

it is not in DOM for now, but I can apply animation on it so far

TweenMax.to(elem, 1, { x: 300 });

and it will start immediatly.

So, when this element will be appended into DOM (after 1 sec passed), it will have its `transform: translateX(300px);`

If this element appends while tweening we'll see it moving from some middle point.
The very simple example is in CodePen applied.

Is there a way to make some performance on elements, that are not in DOM for right now, i.e. hold the animation until the element appears on the screen? Some kind of holding animation request until appending or smth. similar.

Hope, my explanation is well.

Best regards,

Nick Rimer

UPD:
I solved this case with a combination of `pause` property and `document.body.contains(elem)`.

Saving animation first:

const anim = TweenMax.to(elem, 1, { x: 300, paused: !document.body.contains(elem) });

Run animation when element will appear:

anim.play();

But I don't know if this solution is awful/great/the best. Maybe you'll find the most efficient and elegant way.

CodePen was updated.

UPD2: