Search Community

Thoughts on how to do this with React/GSAP

Rick May test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm very new to using React (I'm using Gatsby) and still wrapping my head around how best to handle various situations.  I thought I had a methodology all worked out for this particular website, but I'm starting to question whether I'm taking the right approach.  I hope an expert can offer an opinion or two.

This (it isn't for a client, but for my own educational purposes) website is a single page with several full screen sections.  Each section is a separate component, and inside each of these components, I have a GSAP draggable.  Click and drag to navigate to the next section.  All of this is working for the most part.

As I get further along, I'm starting to question whether this is the best approach.  Each of those draggables (contained in its own "section" component) need to communicate values to each other.  Since I'm new to React, I'm still figuring out how to best share values between the child components.  

So...

I started wondering if it would be better to have all of the separate draggables created in the index.jsx (parent) instead of the components.  This way, it would probably be easier to share info across the draggables.  I would only need to communicate minimal (i.e. drag has ended, begin a timeline that lives inside the component) information to the components.