Search Community

Change SVG logo color on scroll

roogud test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hey there,

I'm fairly new to GreenSock. 

So I've been working on some SVG animation. I have my logo animate on hover just like I want. Now, I want to have it change color on scroll, so when there's a white background, I want the logo to stay black, and when it's on a black background, I want the logo to be white.

Can I achieve this with GSAP?

Best, Roo

See the Pen bxwwwd by roogud (@roogud) on CodePen

Ah nice! Thanks for that!

I found this tutorial: https://eduardoboucas.com/blog/2017/09/25/svg-clip-path-logo-colour.html

where you kinda scroll the alternate logo over, kinda like a mask. Is that possible with GSAP?

And could that be applied to text as well? 

I also noticed that you're doing this based on Y-value in scroll. I'm wondering if I can somehow detect what the current background is and that way change the color of the logo.

Sounds similar to what I did in this demo:

See the Pen pydXLG by PointC (@PointC) on CodePen

You should be able to set up some triggers to animate the mask or change the color of the logo path(s) fill. The mask or clip-path route will probably be a bit better because during scrolling the logo could be straddling two sections of background colors and the mask could compensate for that.

Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 6

Ah yea looks pretty much what I am trying to accomplish @PointC:)

So, if I'm understanding this correctly, I need two versions of the logo: one black, and one white?

And then what I am essentially animation is the clip-path? (need to read about how that works :))